10UP Competition

Meet the 2018 winners of the Honor Awards, an annual program recognizing individuals and firms demonstrating exemplary commitment and service to AIA, the community and the profession of architecture.

2018 Honorees

Cheryl McAfee, FAIA
Cheryl McAfee, FAIAIvan Allen Sr. Trophy - Overall Career Excellence
The most prestigious prize, the Ivan Allen Sr. Trophy, is awarded to the member who has made a deep and lasting impact on peers, AIA and the built environment, and therefore sustained the highest ideals of the profession.
Smith Dalia Architects
Smith Dalia ArchitectsSilver Medal - Overall Firm Excellence
The Silver Medal is the highest honor bestowed upon an architecture firm for its general excellence. The recipient has sustained outstanding performance as evidenced by a consistently high level of design quality and demonstrated community, political or AIA leadership in the interests of the profession.
John Portman & Associates
John Portman & AssociatesJohn Portman Visionary Award
The new John Portman Visionary Award is named in honor of late architect John Portman, FAIA. The award recognizes noteworthy achievements that express a vision and excellence of design in any one of the following categories; buildings, communities, landscapes, structures, art and sculpture, etc.
Heather Alhadeff
Heather AlhadeffKwanza Hall Award
Named after a longtime public servant in the City of Atlanta, this award recognizes the leadership of a non-architect who, through their professional life, has pushed members of the design community to elevate the quality of our work to improve the livability of our towns, cities and neighborhoods.
Marc Johnson, AIA
Marc Johnson, AIAJames G. Fausett Service to the Profession Award
The James G. Fausett Service to the Profession Award honors a firm, group or individual for outstanding service to the profession, primarily through leadership service in the AIA or a related organization.
Dan Watch, FAIA
Dan Watch, FAIADorothy Spence Citizen Architect Award
The Dorothy Spence Citizen Architect Award honors an AIA member who engages the community with a design mentality, seeing their community the same way an architect sees a project: all connected. This award recognizes contributions made outside of volunteer roles within AIA.
Clara Winston, AIA
Clara Winston, AIAJohn A. Busby Jr. Award
The John A. Busby Jr. Award is given to a young member who has excelled in one or more of the areas that make a great architect: design excellence, AIA leadership, community involvement, a pursuit of lifelong education, and engagement in the management of their firm or started their own.