10UP Competition

The annual AIA Atlanta Honor Awards recognize exemplary leadership and service within the chapter, the profession, and the greater community.

With a mission to bring leadership to the built environment, AIA Atlanta is committed to honoring individuals, organizations, and architecture firms making significant contributions. Eligibility varies by category and allows self-nominating or nominating another party.

Join the celebration as AIA Atlanta reveals the winners at Build Something Great on Saturday, November 18. Review the nomination details below.

2023 Award Categories

Dorothy Spence Citizen Architect Award

The Dorothy Spence Citizen Architect Award recognizes an AIA member who engages in their community with a design mentality, seeing their community the same way an architect sees a project: “it is all connected.” They break down silos, see how various community problems are interconnected, and determine how a community leader can find a leverage point for solutions. This award recognizes contributions made outside of volunteer roles within AIA.

View nomination details »

John A. Busby Jr. Exceptional Young Architect Award

The John A. Busby Jr. Award is given to a young chapter member who has been an active member for two consecutive years and has been in the profession of architecture for 10 years or less.

View nomination details »

Ivan Allen Sr. Award

The most prestigious prize, the Ivan Allen Sr. Award, is awarded to the member who has made a deep and lasting impact on peers, AIA, and the built environment and, therefore, sustained the highest ideals of the profession.

View nomination details »

Silver Medal for Firm of the Year

The Silver Medal Award is the highest honor bestowed by AIA Atlanta upon an architecture firm for its general excellence, open to any firm within AIA Atlanta’s jurisdiction. The award honors a firm, single practitioner up to a large entity, that has sustained outstanding performance as evidenced by a consistently high level of design quality and demonstrated community, political or AIA leadership in the interests of the profession.

View nomination details »

Key dates

Nominations open
September 28

Nominations close
October 27

Build Something Great
November 18 »

Past Winners by Year

2022 | 2021 | 2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015