10UP Competition

Residential & Hospitality Design Awards

In 2022, AIA Atlanta reintroduced its former Residential Design Awards program as the Residential & Hospitality Design Awards (RHDA), adding restaurant and hotel projects for the first time.

Over nine years, the program has seen hundreds of submissions spanning from the Nantahala National Forest in North Carolina to the mountains in Mexico. The newly revamped initiative will receive submissions again in August 2023, accepting built projects designed by Georgia architects and located anywhere in the world.

Entries must have been completed between January 1, 2020, and October 1, 2023, and commissioned with the entrant holding the primary design responsibility. The jury confers prizes of the Honor Award and/or the Merit Award, the former being the highest recognition.

2022 Winners

Multifamily/Mixed-Use – Over 50 Units

Honor Award

Camden Buckhead (Niles Bolton Associates)

Merit Award 

Carpenter’s Shelter and the Bloom at Braddock (Cooper Carry)

Single-Family – Traditional

Honor Award

Keswick Manor House (Harrison Design)

Merit Award

Lake Compound Effect (Jones Pierce Studios)

Single-Family – Contemporary

Honor Award

Farmhouse on the Marsh (Harrison Design)

Hotel – Guest Rooms 101+

Merit Award

The Grand Bohemian Lodge (Cooper Carry)

Restaurant – New Construction

Merit Award

The Garden Room (The Johnson Studio at Cooper Carry)

Rumi’s Kitchen (The Johnson Studio at Cooper Carry)

Restaurant – Renovation/Tenant Buildout

Merit Award

Falling Rabbit Restaurant (Studio SOGO Architecture & Interiors)

Key dates

2022 awards gallery online
January 2023

2023 submissions open
August 2023

Winners Archive

Winners by Year

2022 | 2021 | 2020 | 2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015

Photo Credit

Project: Sandy Lake Residence
Award: 2021 Honor Award, Single-Family – Contemporary
Firm: West Architecture Studio
Photographer: Fredrik Brauer