Winning Projects

2020 Residential Design Awards

AIA Atlanta’s Residential Design Awards recognize excellence in built work designed by AIA Atlanta members and architects registered in Georgia. The Honor Award denotes the highest designation. Winners were announced on March 18, 2021, during a virtual ceremony.

2020 Winners

Click each project for a closer look.

Mixed-use – Over 50 Units

The Charles

Lord Aeck Sargent

Honor Award


Niles Bolton Associates

Merit Award

Multifamily – Under 50 Units

The Ardyn Townhomes

Office of Design

Merit Award

Single-family – Traditional

Natural History

Historical Concepts

Honor Award

Single-family – Nontraditional

House in the Berkshires

Choate + Hertlein Architects

Honor Award


Square Feet Studio

Merit Award

Moccasin Creek Residence

Frances Zook Architect

Merit Award

Renovation – Less Than 5,000 Square Feet

More Mid Century

Axios Architecture

Honor Award

Meet the jury

Teri Canada

Teri Canada, AIA

EVOKE Studio

Durham, NC

Ernesto Cragnolino, FAIA


Austin, TX

David Dillard, FAIA


Dallas, TX

Daniel Lee, AIA

Bohlin Cywinski Jackson

Philadelphia, PA

Kathy Scott, AIA

Walker Warner Architects

San Francisco, CA

Photo credits

The Charles, Lord Aeck Sargent: Jonathan Hillyer

Vantage, Niles Bolton Associates: Halkin Mason

The Ardyn Townhomes, Office of Design: Eric Sun

Natural History, Historical Concepts: Eric Piasecki

House in the Berkshires, Choate + Hertlein Architects: Phillip Spears

Morningside, Square Feet Studio: Garey Gomez

Moccasin Creek Residence, Frances Zook Architect: David Christensen

More Mid Century, Axios Architecture: Steve Robinson