About AIA ATL


About Us

With approximately 1,700 members throughout the Greater Metro Atlanta area, the Atlanta chapter of The American Institute of Architects is a energetic, creative, and agile advocate for architects, design professionals, students, and the general public.

With a diverse membership comprised of professionals from a variety of backgrounds–traditional firms, allied professional firms, retired professionals, colleges, universities, government centers, product showrooms, manufacturing facilities, and home offices–all members have one connecting and powerful thread in common: a fine appreciation of architecture and design.

AIA Atlanta is well suited to meet any and all levels of interest and expertise in architecture and design. With our vast array of committees, educational programs, seminars and social events, we ask that you consider supporting AIA Atlanta by becoming a member. Grow with us and expand your opportunities, both professionally and personally. Help us Build Something Great.

Mission Statement

AIA Atlanta advances the quality of life in our communities through inspiration and leadership in both design and the built environment.

AIA ATL Cancellation + Refund Policy

Cancellation by Participant
Cancellations received more than 7 days prior to event may be eligible to receive a full refund.

Cancellations received within 7 days of an event will receive a 50% refund.

Cancellations requests received within 48-hours will not be eligible for a refund.

Refunds requested after the event has passed will not be eligible for a refund.

Cancellations will be accepted via phone, fax or e-mail, and must be received by the stated cancellation deadline.

All refund requests must be made by the attendee or credit card holder.

Refund requests must include the name of the attendee and/or payment information.

Refunds will be credited back to the original credit card used for payment.

The above policies apply to all AIA  ATL events unless otherwise noted in the corresponding program materials. Please read all individual program information thoroughly.

2015 AIA Atlanta Leadership

 

President
Melody Harclerode, AIA
Harclerode Architects

 

President-elect
Bill Carpenter, AIA
Lightroom

 

Past President
Jay Silverman, AIA
Dwell Design Studio, LLC

 

Treasurer
Perry Jarrell
THS, Inc.

 

Secretary
Karen Jenkins, AIA
Forsite Group, Inc

Read the 2015 Letter from the President

 


Membership Director
Marc Johnson, AIA
HOK

 

Communications Director
Clayton Daspit, AIA
The Beck Group
Ryan Cavanaugh, Assoc. AIA
Niles Bolton Associates

 

Continuing Education Director
Kelly Giddens, AIA
The Beck Group

 

Development Director
Richard Kramer, AIA
Pieper O’Brien Herr Architects
Bill Clark
Stevens & Wilkinson

 

Emerging Professionals Director
Krista Dumkrieger, AIA
Cooper Carry

 

Programs Director (internal)
Jereme Smith, Assoc. AIA
ASD, Inc.

 

Programs Director (external)
Aaron Albrecht
5G Studio Collaborative

Ex-Officio Member
Susan Proper
AIA Atlanta Executive Director

MB headshot Missy BowerDirector of Membership and Developmentmissy@aiaatl.org
SP headshot Susan ProperExecutive Directorsusan@aiaatl.org
mj headshot Milan JordanDirector of Communications & Programsmilan@aiaatl.org
cY headshot Chris Yueh,National Convention Programs Coordinatorchris@aiaatl.org

Friends of AIA Atlanta

Name Company AddressSuiteCity Zip Email
Andrew Sain Stanley D. Lindsay & Associates 2300 Windy Ridge Pkwy STE 200Atlanta30339asain@sdlal.com
Joe Hornstrum McNichols Co. 1980 Shiloh Rd NW Kennesaw 30144Joe.Hornstrom@mcnichols.com
Daniel Elington Scenic Design Group, PC 1823 Mount Hope CtDuluth 30097dan@scenicdesigngroup.com
Donald BryanJamco, Inc 2160 Kingston Court STE 1Marietta 30067dbryan@jamco-inc.com
Lisa White Kimball Office 3445 Peachtree Rd STE 400Atlanta 30349lisa.white@kimball.com
Mark Bond Hayes, James & Associates, Inc 4745 Shackleford Rd STE 300Norcross30093mbond@hayesjames.com
Sherri SmithThe Pretection Engineering Group2750 Premiete PkwySTE 900Duluth30097SSmithpegroup-inc.com
Theron Gunter Guy T. Gunter & Associates 1610 Southland Circle SWAtlanta 30318tgunter@guytgunter.com
Tracy Green DLB Associates 3290 Cumberland Club Dr.STE 300Atlanta 30339tgreen@dlbassociates.com
Brendan Gardes DLB Associates 3290 Cumberland Club Dr. STE 300Atlanta 30339bgardes@dlbassociates.com

AIA Atlanta Kwanza Hall Award

Dorothy Spence Helping Hand Award

John A. Busby Jr., FAIA Award

Service to the Profession Award


Special Award of Recognition

AIA Atl Silver Medal Award

Bernie Marcus

Jereme Smith Assoc. AIA
Shelly-Anne Tulia Scott AIA

John Moores AIA

Anna Bianca George Assoc. AIA
Kazunari Miyokawa
Zoe McFarlane-Sweeney McMichael

Krista Dumkrieger
Nghi Duong

Mack Scogin Merrill Elam Architects