About AIA ATL


About Us

With approximately 1,700 members throughout the Greater Metro Atlanta area, the Atlanta chapter of The American Institute of Architects is a energetic, creative, and agile advocate for architects, design professionals, students, and the general public.

With a diverse membership comprised of professionals from a variety of backgrounds–traditional firms, allied professional firms, retired professionals, colleges, universities, government centers, product showrooms, manufacturing facilities, and home offices–all members have one connecting and powerful thread in common: a fine appreciation of architecture and design.

AIA Atlanta is well suited to meet any and all levels of interest and expertise in architecture and design. With our vast array of committees, educational programs, seminars and social events, we ask that you consider supporting AIA Atlanta by becoming a member. Grow with us and expand your opportunities, both professionally and personally. Help us Build Something Great.

Mission Statement

AIA Atlanta advances the quality of life in our communities through inspiration and leadership in both design and the built environment.

2014 AIA Atlanta Leadership

 

President
Jay Silverman, AIA
Lord Aeck and Sargent, Inc

 

President-elect
Melody Harclerode, AIA
Harclerode Architects

 

Past President
Theresa Ridley, AIA
Gensler

 

Treasurer
Raja Sibai, Associate AIA
Rosser International, Inc.

 

Secretary
Karen Jenkins, AIA
Forsite Group, Inc

 


Allied Director
Dan Eberly 
Eberly & Associates
Steve Brown
Crow Friedman Group

 

Associates Director
Thomas Ingram, AIA
Collins Cooper Carusi Architects Inc.

 

Academic Affairs Director
Garfield Peart, AIA
US Army Reserve Forcebr]Marc Johnson, AIA
HOK

 

Communications Director
Clayton Daspit, AIA
Collins Cooper Carusi
Steve Purdon, AIA
Energy Ace, Inc.

 

Continuing Education Director
Frances Hamilton, AIA
Hamilton Architect Studios
Kelly Giddeon, AIA
The Beck Group

 

Development Director
Richard Kramer, AIA
Pieper O’Brien Herr Architects
Maria Bonau-Barker, AIA
Flu(x) architecture + design, LLC

 

Emerging Professionals Director
Brent Amos, AIA
Cooper Carry, Inc.
Doug Hannah, AIA
Pond & Company

 

Government Affairs Director
Monica Fenderson, AIA
Gwinnett County GA Dept. of Planning and Development

 

Membership Director
Vaughn Fountain, AIA
Rosser International, Inc.
Perry Jarrell, AIA
THC, Inc.

 

Northeast Section Director
Elizabeth Harris, AIA
Elizabeth Harris & Associates

 

Public Awareness Director
Shelby Morris, AIA
The Beck Group
Jereme Smith, Assoc. AIA
HDR Inc.

 

 

Ex-Officio Member
Susan Proper
AIA Atlanta Executive Director

 

 

MB headshot Missy Bower

Director of Membership and Development

missy@aiaatl.org

SP headshot Susan Proper

Executive Director

susan@aiaatl.org

mj headshot Milan Jordan

Director of Communications & Programs

milan@aiaatl.org

cY headshot Chris Yueh,

National Convention Programs Coordinator

chris@aiaatl.org

Kevin Likins

Coordinator

kevin@aiaatl.org

Friends of AIA Atlanta

Name Company AddressSuiteCity Zip Email
Andrew Sain Stanley D. Lindsay & Associates 2300 Windy Ridge Pkwy STE 200Atlanta30339asain@sdlal.com
Joe Hornstrum McNichols Co. 1980 Shiloh Rd NW Kennesaw 30144Joe.Hornstrom@mcnichols.com
Daniel Elington Scenic Design Group, PC 1823 Mount Hope CtDuluth 30097dan@scenicdesigngroup.com
Donald BryanJamco, Inc 2160 Kingston Court STE 1Marietta 30067dbryan@jamco-inc.com
Lisa White Kimball Office 3445 Peachtree Rd STE 400Atlanta 30349lisa.white@kimball.com
Mark Bond Hayes, James & Associates, Inc 4745 Shackleford Rd STE 300Norcross30093mbond@hayesjames.com
Sherri SmithThe Pretection Engineering Group2750 Premiete PkwySTE 900Duluth30097SSmithpegroup-inc.com
Theron Gunter Guy T. Gunter & Associates 1610 Southland Circle SWAtlanta 30318tgunter@guytgunter.com
Tracy Green DLB Associates 3290 Cumberland Club Dr.STE 300Atlanta 30339tgreen@dlbassociates.com
Brendan Gardes DLB Associates 3290 Cumberland Club Dr. STE 300Atlanta 30339bgardes@dlbassociates.com

AIA Atlanta Kwanza Hall Award

Dorothy Spence Helping Hand Award

John A. Busby Jr., FAIA Award

Service to the Profession Award


Special Award of Recognition

AIA Atl Silver Medal Award

Bernie Marcus

Jereme Smith Assoc. AIA
Shelly-Anne Tulia Scott AIA

John Moores AIA

Anna Bianca George Assoc. AIA
Kazunari Miyokawa
Zoe McFarlane-Sweeney McMichael

Krista Dumkrieger
Nghi Duong

Mack Scogin Merrill Elam Architects